Skip to content

Wagner motorcycle

August 9, 2010

The early Wagner bikes had a frame unlike most others.  It mounted the motor very low to the ground, and had a diagonal second bar.  It was an interesting concept, but the use of the lower frame tube as an exhaust pipe was used more often that you might imagine.  Here is an advert for the 1910 model.  Click on the photo to see it and the text larger.

1910 wagner frame

I spotted the remains of a 1912 Wagner hanging on the wall in my friend’s shop.  While at the Davenport swap meet he bought it for the rear wheel I believe and just hung the rest of that rusty carcass on a nail to look at.  There isn’t much left of the crankcase, but a little bit is remaining at the bottom of the barrel.

IMG_1104

Wagners are fairly rare now, but there are a few of them in the midwest.  Here is one pic I found. Note that this one has a conventional exhaust pipe.

wagner

And Lonnie posted a few more pics here

wagner 2

.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Hugh permalink
    August 29, 2010 10:25 am

    It’s cool to read some more about Wagners. I found the remains of an old Wagner (about like the carcass in the photo above) when I was a kid, although I didn’t know that’s what it was at the time. Years later, someone from my home town published a book of old photos one of which showed this bike with the name “Wagner” clearly on the tank. The bike was apparently owned by the U.S. Post Office and the rider (“Mr. Julius” who was an OLD man when I was a kid) had delivered the mail on it.

    That was at least 40 years ago when I found the bike buried in a bunch of kudzu. I should go rooting around again one of these days when I’m home and see if there’s anything left of it.

  2. re-cycler permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:13 pm

    I am trying to restore a 1911 Wagner. I am looking for any and all Wagner parts out there to help my project and the projects of some of my friends (1907 to 1912 models). I would love to have a basket case even as rough as the one in the first picture, there are many parts that are still usable on this bike.
    Thanks,
    Tom

    • Pete Young permalink*
      November 10, 2010 11:56 am

      Hi Tom. I think that the owner of the bike in the photo is planning to do something with his parts. But I’ll send your note to him and see if he would like to contact you.

      I also have seen some other Wagners lately. I’ll post some more photos soon.
      Pete

    • BRUCE VAITH permalink
      March 6, 2020 9:19 am

      I HAVE A 1912 WAGNER MOTOR FOR SALE ?

      • Anonymous permalink
        March 6, 2020 2:15 pm

        Hi Bruce, I may be interested. Email me pics please. re_cycler@msn.com. I know of 2 1912’s being restored. Thank you!

      • Bill Slingsby permalink
        May 18, 2022 3:34 pm

        Hi This is Bill in Montana and am restoring a 1912 wagner and could use some engine parts as well as many other parts and would appreciate any info or contacts. Thanks Bill 1-406-580-6626

      • Tom Sheldon permalink
        May 19, 2022 12:59 pm

        Thank you Pete for forwarding this. I will be in contact with him.

        Sent from my iPhone

  3. Don Kavanaugh permalink
    February 11, 2011 8:58 am

    looking to contact anybody looking for parts for a 1910 wagner motorcycle. I have in my posession a intact and possibly working motor (flywheel turns freely) and gas tank in good condition (very little rust on both items.

    • re-cycler permalink
      February 11, 2011 12:11 pm

      Hi Don,
      I love the old, simple Wagners. I’m working on an ’11 but am also trying to piece together a ’09-’10. Please send me more info/pictures.
      Tom
      re_cycler@msn.com

      • Don permalink
        March 8, 2011 7:48 pm

        Hey Tom, sorry i didn’t reply sooner, been busy, first time back to this website since i posted. currently out of town at work, I’ll take some pics of what i got when i get home this weekend. do you want me to send them to your re_cycler email address?

  4. Dale permalink
    March 8, 2015 7:15 pm

    I have a a Wagner similar to the baby blue one pictured. It has the leather belt and a triangle shaped battery box under the seat,
    trying to find info on it with no luck. Can you point me in the right direction? Dale

  5. Dale permalink
    March 8, 2015 7:21 pm

    anybody have any info on the bike pictured in the black and white picture above.

    • April 27, 2015 9:00 pm

      Dale–its an earlier unsprung fork model, ’07-’08 it appears. Id love to see photos of your Wagner get a positive ID on it–You can send to johnwagner2118 at msn dot com . I look forward to seeing them!

Leave a comment