Skip to content

First ride

February 18, 2013
tags: ,
Riding the 1913 Veloce 3 1/2

 

We had some fun today in an empty parking lot.

 

The carb isn’t carbureting just right, so I need to spend some time on it to allow for easy starting.  But it does pick up and go to around 30 or 35mph, which was all that the parking lot would allow before I ran out of space.

 

ridng the 13 velo

 

ignore the truck

19 Comments leave one →
  1. John Jennings permalink
    February 18, 2013 3:15 pm

    Pete, hearty congratulations on getting this far with the Veloce project in such a short time – I need to borrow some of your motivation. Sounds exactly the same as a veteran Triumph! Just need to remember to give it one charge of oil every 10 to 15 miles.
    JJ

  2. Derek Reay permalink
    February 18, 2013 3:33 pm

    Bike looks great and seems to be running at a fair old speed. Have fun riding her.

  3. February 18, 2013 3:52 pm

    fantastic…….well done pete.

  4. W.C. Trapp permalink
    February 18, 2013 3:54 pm

    Pete, great jpb

  5. Bruce Williams permalink
    February 18, 2013 4:19 pm

    You lucky guy, it was 3 degrees here in Ohio this AM, The Velo sounds great

  6. jon szalay permalink
    February 18, 2013 4:30 pm

    congrats pete sounds great and looks fantastic!

  7. jon szalay permalink
    February 18, 2013 4:32 pm

    pete are you running the same green belt that katrin ran on her flying broomstick?

    • February 18, 2013 9:09 pm

      I think it is the same, but I haven’t checked with Katrin. They are good belts, but they shed green dust all over the bike!

  8. Jim Abbott permalink
    February 18, 2013 6:22 pm

    Pete: I’m totally impressed!! I remember you telling us you were waiting for a wooden box of rust to arrive on a ship. Hard to believe that this was it. Good on ya mate! Jim A.

  9. February 18, 2013 7:26 pm

    PETE–ENJOY THE BLOG –CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR BIKE -SHE LOOKS GREAT

  10. paul venne permalink
    February 18, 2013 7:31 pm

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yeaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Paul

    On Mon, Feb 18, 2013 at 3:01 PM, Occhio Lungo wrote:

    > ** > Pete Young posted: “Riding the > 1913 Veloce 3 1/2 We had some fun today in an empty parking lot. The > carb isn’t carbureting just right, so I need to spend some time on it to > all”

  11. Steve permalink
    February 18, 2013 7:50 pm

    Good old City College parking lot. Very handy for weekend test drives. Excellent work on the Velo resto. A source of inspiration for those times when it seems a project might never get finished.

    • February 18, 2013 9:07 pm

      that’s right Steve! it was the biggest parking lot that I could think of.

  12. Doug Lyon permalink
    February 19, 2013 12:34 am

    Hi Pete, she sounds great! Achieving easy starting is the Holy Grail that makes all the difference between a chore and a pleasure as you know, and on my Precision the Senspray has been really good for this. I also found it better to open the pulley a bit as over tall gearing makes for tough starting too. How’s the rear brake, effective – or is that why you needed the big parking lot?!
    Keep up the good work, and I envy you your weather – my zinc plated spokes are now savaged with UK road salt. I think I’ll call it “Patina”!….

    • February 19, 2013 8:46 am

      Hi Doug. The rear brake seems OK. A bit grabby, but it stops me. I might lower the gearing a bit this week. The carb is a bit of an oddball to me. A B&B with a needle on the slide, but no pilot jet. Nor does it have the external adjustable jet. Two slides, but not the like the early carbs. The air slide is smaller than the main slide, like the later carbs. There is a series of small air holes on the rear of the carb, and a sliding cover that can open or cover any number of the holes. I’ll fiddle with it some more to see how it runs with 0 holes open, or 3 or 6 of them… My books describe how to tune the early carbs and the late carbs, but not this setup.

  13. Kelvin permalink
    February 19, 2013 5:24 am

    Congratulations, looks like fun!

  14. Geert permalink
    February 21, 2013 10:45 am

    Hi Pete,

    I think both my bikes have the same type of B&B, I always run with 2 air holes open and have the needle at one bike 44 mm sticking out of the slide, the other has it 46 mm out of the slide, but this needle was home made, so it might be a bit thinner.
    Both bikes start and run easy.
    I thought this will give you something to compare.

    Geert

    • February 21, 2013 11:08 am

      thank you Geert! The slide is worn, and the bike idles pretty high. I’ll check the needle length tonight, and I’m planning a test ride tomorrow. I’ll see what I can do with this slide, as I don’t want to make up a new one if I can avoid it. 🙂

Leave a comment