Skip to content

Thank You

February 7, 2013
tags: ,

Before and After:before after

The bike is nearly done.   It still needs tuning, paint on the tank and stripes on the wheel rims.   But now seems like a good time to thank all the people who helped me get the bike to this state.  I tried to do as much as I could, but could never have finished the project without the help of many folks in Australia, the US, England, Spain, the Netherlands, Germany, Latvia, Ireland, and the Czech Republic.  Some gave information, some donated or traded or sold parts, some did work, and some taught me how to do a task.  And a couple of them are no longer with us, but I’m glad to have had their help on the Veloce.

 

A very big thank you to:

Peter Allen

Leon Mitchell

Keith Hamilton

Robert Elliot

Howard Burrows

Paul Milner

Dave Fisher

Andrew Repton

Dave Masters

Richard McKenney

Greg Summerton

John Quirke

Adrian Lockrey

Ian Jennings

Ivan Rhodes

Rob Saward

Doug Lyon

Jim Hammant

Juris Ramba

Bill Phelps

Chris Quinn

Charlie Taylor

Chuck at the Saddleshop

Richard and Peter Rosenthal

Ron Farthing

Bill Mantle

John Jennings

Chris Woolley

Greg Ditchfield

Jiri Horice

Manuel Parra

Matt Gil

Derek Dorresteyn

Dave Miller

Joop Gerdes

Stuart Towner

Dennis Hodges

Tad Yenawine

Don Clancy

Kim Young and the kids

 

And I’ve probably forgotten a few others too.  Thank you.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 8, 2013 3:47 am

    Hi Pete
    Well done, the end is in sight and it has been very interesting to see your progress along the way. Thanks for sharing your progress at each stage, we all learn from each other. Your thank you list is like a who is who of the vintage world and more than half the people on the list have helped me over the years. Long may the vintage fraternity flourish.
    Are you going to the pier in Brighton?
    John

    • February 8, 2013 10:01 am

      Hello John. Well, you were a great help for this project! Without the photos you shared, and the parts you sent me, the bike never would have turned out as well as it did. I still need to copy your method of creating a throttle stop screw on the B&B slide, but I was able to emulate your work on the mudguard valences, the lamp mount on the forks, the D-shaped tubing in the frame, the brake pedal stop, etc, etc. If all goes well over the next month or so, I’ll be seeing you at Epsom Downs and we can ride into Brighton together! 🙂 And then Banbury and the Irish too.

  2. November 27, 2013 10:52 pm

    Wow. Big congrats on the engineers dream. I’m fooling with my Excelsior rear hub. Chain still makes funny popping noise against the repop starter chain front sprocket. I’ll be looking at alignments carefully next.

Leave a comment