Skip to content

27 Months later

February 6, 2013
tags: ,
First start of the 1913 Veloce after decades of sitting and 2 years of rebuild
23 Comments leave one →
  1. Roberto permalink
    February 6, 2013 10:48 pm

    Well done Sir!

  2. February 6, 2013 10:53 pm

    Back wheel looks perfectly balanced and true as it spins. Great job. Thanks, Paul Venne

  3. albert pisani permalink
    February 6, 2013 11:05 pm

    Sounds and looks great! Well done!

  4. February 6, 2013 11:56 pm

    hey pete….nice one… always get a smile from a first start up….best feeling.

  5. Doug Lyon permalink
    February 7, 2013 12:14 am

    Brilliant Pete – Well done! I recognise that look on your face, and it’s a great feeling waking up a machine after all those years. Now starts the business of learning the idiosycracies of the beast, and no small amount of “Keep Fit” learning the arts. Congratulations!

  6. Alan Harper permalink
    February 7, 2013 2:14 am

    Well done Pete, I know the feelings of relief when you first get it to fire up. Just a question, do you have a library the size a museum or a good source? Your documents are of great interest, and I really appreciate your sharing them with us.

    • February 7, 2013 7:32 pm

      Hi Alan. I buy books cheap when I can, via eBay, ABE books, Lindsay’s, etc. It isn’t a huge collection, but I’ve read just about every word of every book. They all fit along one wall of a bedroom. Maybe a few hundred books? I dunno. But they are almost all about early motoring from 1700’s to WWII. I keep meaning to write more book reviews, but the past year has kept me too busy on the Veloce to write much on OcchioLungo. Hopefully that will change now.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    February 7, 2013 2:47 am

    Well done Pete! Next Cannonball??
    Alan in Vancouver

    • February 7, 2013 7:29 pm

      Probably not Alan. I did the Cannonball once already, and that was enough for a while. There are still plenty of tours that I haven’t had time or money to try yet… 🙂 See you in Volcano, CA in July?

  8. Bruce Williams permalink
    February 7, 2013 4:40 am

    Good deal, nice bike. I’m looking forward to hearing the Neckarsulm, just have to finish rear stand and brake, then tear down to paint. if you see Was, tell him the clutch is done, his drawings were great. One of my pals is looking for a pump body for a small Best and Lloyd, for a Blackburne. any leads?

    • February 7, 2013 7:28 pm

      Those pumps show up on EbayUK every two weeks or so. If I spy one, I’ll send you a note.

  9. GWW permalink
    February 7, 2013 6:04 am

    great job. that alt to put some bugs on your teeth.

  10. Jim Abbott permalink
    February 7, 2013 7:16 am

    Congrats and we all knew you could do it!
    Jim A., Tucson, AZ

  11. Anonymous permalink
    February 7, 2013 7:26 am

    Feet go round and round, motor goes put putt putt smile. Good job. I hope to fire up my much younger Ducati 450 “soon”.
    Bob
    Brandon, Manitoba
    Canada

  12. February 7, 2013 8:24 am

    Amazing! I really admire your determination, and keeping to it, and finishing the damn thing! One of the oldest Velocettes in the world…

  13. Rick Yamane permalink
    February 7, 2013 8:39 am

    NICE! I don’t have sound at work but I can tell by the belt slapping, wheel spinning and the big smile that it was running, and well.
    Rick@MotionPro

  14. Dave Smith permalink
    February 7, 2013 9:34 am

    Wow, amazing! I hope you can find the time for the next Cannonball. 27 months!

  15. February 7, 2013 12:27 pm

    Pete, Great result. I know its a long way to go, but your Veloce would be a great candidate for the Pewter Run, here in New England. Website: PewterRun.com

  16. February 7, 2013 3:01 pm

    Congrats Pete! Great looking and sounding bike!

  17. Derek Reay permalink
    February 7, 2013 4:55 pm

    Well done, Pete. An excellent job.
    Will we be seeing you and the bike on the Pioneer Run, here in the UK ?

    • February 7, 2013 7:27 pm

      Yes Derek. The plan is to ship it over in a few weeks, and to ride from London to Brighton to celebrate the bikes 100th birthday. See you there?

  18. February 7, 2013 6:19 pm

    Good work Pete…I hope it’s maintained in running order for the next 100 years. Giving new life to an old crock is its own reward. Well done. Jerry Kaplan, Davis, CA

    • February 7, 2013 7:26 pm

      Thanks Jerry. I hope that the bike will still be running and used regularly in 100 years!

Leave a comment