Skip to content

Minden, NV pre16 ride 2011

January 22, 2012

Late every summer, a few guys meet in Minden to ride their old motorbikes around for a few days on the quiet backroads just east of the Sierra Nevada mountain range.  The roads are pretty flat, free of traffic and full of good views.  Which are all Good Things for enjoying an early bike on the open roads.  Here are some photos from the 2011 run.

Markleeville

At the Cutthroat Bar in Markleeville.  Our stop on the Thursday ride.

wolf creek 2011

A few friendly faces.   How many can you name?  send your comments in via the link at the bottom of the page.  Winking smile

 

Greg 1911 Excelsior

Greg and his Exclesior.  more pics here.

Wes 1914 Excelsior

Wes and his Excelsior

 

cyclone

Somebody told me that I needed more readers, and they way to get them was to feature young girls and motorcycles in my photos.  So here is one.

 

indian

A nice Indian

genoa nv

At Nevada’s Oldest Thirst Parlor in Genoa.  Since 1853.

DSC00041

 

DSC00025

Overland Stage in 1883

 

IMG_9422IMG_9339

1918ish Excelsior

 

captive cyclone

When Lane went to bed, somebody rolled his Cyclone into a hotel room for the night.

 

cushman indian

Cushman and Indian.  The Cushman is setup to run well and has enough power and brakes to keep up with the old bikes.  Chuck V. brought it out this year, a toy for an 85(?) year old to play with.

 

 

horses ass

View from a restaurant in Carson City.  Victorian architecture and lighting.  And yes, that’s a horses ass outside the window.

 

Buster and Yale

Day three, out in Wellington, NV.  We had a great day’s ride out in the valley, until the big wildfire started.  It closed the road back toward civilization.  Most of the folks waited for the road to open, but I got itchy and put the truck into 4 wheel drive for a 15 mile dirt path up and out of the valley that touched down back in California.  We came across a group on modern HD’s that had just done the route on their bikes, with about 50% of them losing fork seals in the process.  But nobody burned up in the fire, and everybody made it home ok.

 

yale

Buster’s Yale

yale muffler

A shot of the business end of the Yale muffler.

 

IMG_9468

Rear fender has some neat details.

toledo oh

MFD by The Consolidated MFG Co.  Toledo, OH.

 

IMG_9469

1915 1916 1917 Minnesota plate.

 

yale 4hp

 

 

IMG_9443

If you are going to adjust the timing in a parking lot, you might as well bring plenty of tools and a chair to sit on.

 

IMG_9345

some local color.

 

1911 excelsior

No apology for featuring yet another shot of that beautiful 1911 Excelsior.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 11:06 am

    Can’t wait to finish my 15 Pope so I can join in on the fun! Very inspiring.
    Brian in Santa Cruz, CA

  2. alan comfort permalink
    January 23, 2012 6:16 pm

    I want one
    alan in vancouver

  3. January 23, 2012 6:42 pm

    Sure looks like a great time! You guys know how to have fun….Mike

  4. January 23, 2012 6:50 pm

    I rolled my pan chopper into the room one nite, (no insurance, only way home) The folks I rode in with got pissed, said “that’s why people don’t want bikers in their rooms, and I was makinn’ em all look bad. I said “this ain’t some EVO!” (I was a bit obsessed with my first Pan…)..Mike

  5. January 24, 2012 4:26 am

    It was worth to wait nearly 4 weeks for your next post. It seems that everything was fitting together: landscape, villages, people and bikes. Thks for sharing. Thomas

  6. tom plotner permalink
    September 7, 2012 11:32 am

    Lane and Bob ,my dad and little brother know how to have fun , wish I could have been there but work won out. maybe someday.

  7. Jerry Cordy permalink
    November 30, 2013 1:20 pm

    My first introduction to the pre 16 rides was in Minden ,NV. in 1980. The ride was put on by Bud Catlett and Bill Stowers. I was riding a 1913 Yale twin at the time and Bud allowed me to bring my 19 Indian power plus for one time only. I’ve been going ever since except for the last few years. In 1985 I restored and rode a 1915 Harley with side car. I also rode a 1913 Flying Merkel twin, 1913 Excelsior, 1915 Thor, big bore and a 1912 Marsh Metz 90degree V twin belt drive. I still have the 1915 Harley. I have put on 4 pre 16 rides in the Jackson/ Sutter Creek area in the late 80s and early 90s. They are great fun and the object is to get from point A to point B without a tow home and to have a blast.

    • November 30, 2013 4:40 pm

      Hi Jerry. Thank you for your comment. All those bikes sound wonderful. Sutter Creek and Jackson is a great area for riding. You probably knew Lysle Parker in Volcano? Let me know if you have any photos or stories that you’d like to share, I’d be glad to post them here.

      regards,
      Pete

  8. Jerome Slaats permalink
    August 15, 2014 10:58 pm

    i love to visit the meet once! Jerome

  9. Jack Yocum permalink
    July 7, 2021 8:09 am

    Looking for Bud Mears. Is he in you group? Do you have phone or email for Bud?
    jfyocum@g

    • July 8, 2021 9:38 am

      Sorry, I don’t have contact info for Bud Mears. I’ll ask around though.

Trackbacks

  1. Pre 1916 Rallies in California in the 1970s. Part 1 | Occhio Lungo
  2. Jerry Cordy | Occhio Lungo

Leave a comment