Skip to content

The roads are dry, they sky is clear

December 31, 2014

Have a great Old Year’s Night, and watch your speed if riding tonight!

 
The roads are dry, they sky is clear
There is no sign of dust.
My bus I now will have to mount,
or else I’ll surely bust.

 

I take it out and tune it up,
Then mount it for a spin;
And gradually I speed it up
Until I get pulled in.

 

Lo! now I stand before the judge,
And tell my tale of woe;
When he announces ten and costs,
I hand him all my dough.

 

My spirits quickly droop and fade;
I start my boat in gloom,
As all along the road ahead,
The coppers seem to loom.

 

But in a week it’s all forgot
As is the way with men,
And I begin to hit it up,
Until I’m pinched again.

 

And so it goes from month to month,
When riding in a hurry,
And we get pinched from time to time;
But then, "Oh, we should worry!"

happy new year

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2014 10:41 am

    I love that motorcycle magazines used to print poetry! Imagine that today… I’ve been working on my own version of this for …uh…about 20 years. Just pulled the file up yesterday in fact; maybe I’ll finish it before I can’t write any more!

  2. Bsa-Dave permalink
    December 31, 2014 10:43 am

    Haha, wonderful find Pete !
    Have a great new year, best wishes from chilly Birmingham

  3. Doug Lyon permalink
    December 31, 2014 11:08 am

    Would that be via the Boston Archive? A great resource, but can be trying to find all the volumes! All the best to you and yours for 2015!

    • December 31, 2014 12:05 pm

      It is from that Boston Archive Doug. Let me know if you are missing any editions. I can post them all via GoogleShare and you can have my copies.

  4. December 31, 2014 11:58 am

    The illustrations are great too-especially the road lined with cops. My bus stays in the shed tonight.

Leave a Reply

