Skip to content

Cannonball cont.

September 23, 2010

While I ride across the US, it is almost entirely in solitude.  After the first 1-3 miles each morning, the riders spread out to go at their own desired speeds.  I’ve been riding alone, and enjoying the quiet and the views from my 35-40mph perch.

DSC09019 

 DSC08923

  DSC08994

   DSC09021

DSC09009

  

DSC09051 

 

DSC09047

DSC08989

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 7:53 pm

    Nice pictures. They give a real sense of the distance and the solitude — and a bit of the different pace.

  2. Jim Abbott permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:00 pm

    Sept. 23rd Thursday

    Pete:
    Thanks for the snaps. 35-40 sounds might nice after fighting traffic at 75 between here and Phoenix. Plus the occasional speeder. If I’m going to ride up on the Velo (or the Enfield for that matter) I have found frontage roads and two land highways are much more comfortable. After Santa Monica VOCNA member Tom Ross is going to help me remove the motor to be delivered to Mike Jongblood. I’m looking forward to seeing you all en masse.

    See you soon, Jim A. Velo ready to roll.

    • Pete Young permalink*
      September 23, 2010 8:18 pm

      any of the SoCal Velo Fellows going to come into Santa Monica?

      • Jim Abbott permalink
        September 24, 2010 9:23 am

        Pete: Tom Ross wanted to come but had a conflict. Too bad since he was actually going to ride his Venom up and meet me (and you) in Victorville and ride in together. The only other person that I communicated with was Paul d’Orleans who said, “It would be a hoot to show up.” I’ll call him and remind him. Of course my daughter and two grandkids will be there, but I suspect that has more to do with me than you. Sorry. Other than that, who knows. Three weeks ago I didn’t know I’d be there.

        See you soon and keep on truckin’. Jim A.

  3. alan comfort permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:25 pm

    Looks like the old Premier has gotten past her teething problems. Just think what those would be like back in the day. My hat is off to you and all the other riders on this wonderful adventure.
    Alan in Vancouver

  4. rich ostrander permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:55 am

    Pete, Haven’t wanted to bother you while your deep in your ride but have hung on every post on yours and a couple of other blogs. Great ride for all involved. Call when you get settled back in at home.I have info on Shriner’s you requested. Regards, Rich

Leave a Reply

