Skip to content

September 10, 2010

Premier crank pin sheared at mile 67. Expensive noises from the engine. Pulled the motor in the parking lot, all apart tonight. Going to a local shop at 6am. If all goes well, should be together and running Saturday evening. Photos and story to come later. Goodnight.
Pete

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 9:11 pm

    Damn. Nonagenarian machinery. Best of luck getting back on the road!

  2. September 10, 2010 9:55 pm

    holy hell pete….

  3. September 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    Aaaaaah motors. I’ve blown 3 motors and siezed one over the years. First was my ’56 Chevy 4 door. Story was always the same. Got behind on adding 10 cents a quart Raylube to an oil burner. The Chevy got junked, possibly abandoned on the San Diego Freeway. The second car, a Plymouth Duster was more lucky. I sold it to a guy ($150) nearby the incident in Lake Elsinore and he was going to replace the motor with one that didn’t have a big hole in the block. The third time my 1969 Datsun 1300 pickup truck’s crankshaft tanked coming back from Mexico. I drove down and pulled it back to Long Beach with my ’66 GTO. Towed like a toy. I reengined it and drove it until they paid me $600 to junk it for a smog abatement program. Lastly I siezed the pistons on my Honda 305 on the way to Love Ride 10. After a cool down and some oil I finished the day but smoking a little. The bike later went to Japan to a collector. Fun but a little scary having the rear wheel lock up at 70 mph. Go Pete.

  4. September 10, 2010 10:12 pm

    PS Ever since using Slick 50 and similar additives I swear by them. Better living through chemistry.

  5. Jim Abbott permalink
    September 11, 2010 7:01 am

    Pete: Spoken like a true cyclist. You go, bro. Hope to see you in Victorville! Jim A.

  6. September 11, 2010 7:03 pm

    Stroke it to a 600 while you’re in there!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

